Serial the Podcast: Narrativity on a New Level

I enjoy many forms of entertainment, such as watching TV, playing video games, listening to music, or any outside activities. When I heard about the Serial, I didn’t think much of it. I never listened to podcasts until recently, but not very often. I always felt enjoyment listening to them but never really got out of my way to download and open one. When I started to listen to Serial, it piqued my interest. I love puzzles, which makes me like mysteries, which the Serial podcast provides. 

Adnan Syed on left, Sarah Koenig on right, the Serial podcast.

The Serial podcast is based on a true story about a man named Adnan Syed. Starring Sarah Koenig, This American Life follows the events of what happened. Hae Min Lee, Adnan’s ex-girlfriend, had been murdered on January 13th, 1999, with Adnan being the main culprit. The podcast covers alibis and evidence with this story to see if Adnan is guilty. They cover bits and pieces of the investigation throughout the podcast.

The Serial podcast is narrated in a way that everyone appreciates.

As I follow the story of Adnan Syed, it gets more interesting. I do like the story told. Sarah Koenig does a great job narrating the story in an informal matter. Although I see mysteries as momentous, she talks in a way that keeps it serious but keeps the listener entertained, which I like. The music enhances the podcast as it keeps the mysterious vibe to it. She interviewed all of the key characters like Asia, Adnan, and had audio clips of Jay. Pleasured stayed as you weren’t listening to Sarah for all 53 minutes. Overall the narration and story are so substantial that even 80 million people downloaded it by the time it was February 2016.

Hae Min Lee to the left, Adnan Syed to the right.

Serial brings investigative journalism to a new level of excitement.

Investigative reporter looking at billboard looking for connections.

Although I don’t listen to podcasts very often, the way they present investigative journalism is unique. I enjoy investigative journalism as reporters focus on one topic of interest, and you can follow along. The delivery of the story is one main reason why it’s good, rather than being written down, which is where I usually receive my information. With the Serial podcast, I am able to listen along while doing daily activities such as chores and working out. It is an efficient way for me to be entertained and still get things I need to get done, done.

As much as it is exceptional that this podcast is successful, I still think about Adnan’s immediate family and relatives. I believe that Adnan’s family is happy that the podcast has received so much attention. Sarah Koenig knows Adnan and wants to perceive the truth. They must appreciate it, as they hear more from Adnan; people will be more aware of the events that relate to him. Recollecting events of them losing Adnan will come back, which equates to sadness. If I were in a similar situation with my family, I would react this way.

Shamim Syed and Syed Rahman, Adnan’s parents.

Listening to a podcast is more convenient compared to reading.

Books or podcasts?

Although reading is a go-to for many, I believe there are too many drawbacks compared to podcasts. Podcasts are very convenient for me as they are a download-and-go. They are mp3 files which are fast downloads for me; I put in my earbuds and enjoy. I’m able to do chores and many other things I can’t do while I’m reading. Most podcasts are free to download and are easily accessible, but if I want to read an actual book, I have to go to the library. If I don’t go to the library, I’d have to read off my computer rather than using an audiobook. Podcasts are narrated in different ways, which keeps them unique from books. This is why I prefer podcasts over books, although I don’t listen to podcasts much. The convenience is worth it for people who are seeking fast-paced stories and looking to do other activities in the meantime. There really aren’t any drawbacks that I could have listening to a podcast.

Memory isn’t reliable when discussing previous events.

Head with a brain inside of it.

Memory proves useful for many of us, but only when we want it. Sarah Koenig starts the podcast by testing the memories of special guests to prove this point. Even in six weeks, it would be hard to remember what you were doing, unless it were a special occasion. If I were to be in the podcast to share what I’d remember, I wouldn’t be able to unless I was directly related to the crime. The issue with the podcast would be that the people telling their part of the story may not be accurate. Since the event happened long before the podcast, the tale will change over time as memory starts to fade. Retelling these inaccurate stories create new fresh memories of what didn’t happen. That is why I believe there are some issues with the story, but it is nonetheless entertaining.

The Serial podcast is a very unique one with great narrativity. If you have any questions, comments, or concerns leave them below, I’m sure to reply!

The image used above comes from this link: https://www.vanityfair.com/topic/serial, Serial cast.

Works Cited

“About Serial.” Serial, https://serialpodcast.org/about#:~:text=Serial%20Tells%20One%20Story%20%E2%80%94%20A,%2C%20Scripps%20Howard%2C%20Edward%20R.

Hesse, Monica. “’Serial’ Takes the Stand: How a Podcast Became a Character in Its Own Narrative.” The Washington Post, WP Company, 8 Feb. 2016, https://www.washingtonpost.com/lifestyle/when-a-post-conviction-hearing-feels-like-a-sequel-the-weirdness-of-serial-back-on-the-stand/2016/02/08/b3782c60-2a49-48f7-9480-a34dd9e07ab6_story.html.

Verhoeven, Beatrice. “’Serial’ Witness Asia Mcclain on the Last Time She Saw Adnan Syed: ‘He Didn’t Seem to Be Jealous’.” TheWrap, 18 Mar. 2019, https://www.thewrap.com/serial-alibi-witness-asia-mcclain-last-time-she-saw-adnan-syed-jealous/.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started